Advocate

It’s Time to Take Action Now!

The time has come! Members of the conference committee on the state operating budget have been appointed, and your voice is critical to helping the committee make the best funding decisions.

Why a conference committee? Because the version of the budget passed by the House includes $320,000 for Best Beginnings, $2 million for PreK Grants, and $500,000 for Parents as Teachers – and those funds have been deleted in the Senate’s version. Now they need to work together to come up with a compromise. The committee could meet in the next few days, so please don’t put this off.

It’s time, once again, for advocates for young children to speak up. Call or email committee members (see below) and let them know you want them to support the House recommendations. Be sure to include your name, community, and just a few words about why it matters.

Conference Committee
Senator.Lyman.Hoffman@akleg.gov                                      866-465-4453
Senator.Anna.MacKinnon@akleg.gov                                    800-861-5688
Sen.Donny.Olson@akleg.gov                                                 800-597-3707
Representative.Paul.Seaton@akleg.gov                                800-665-2689
Representative.Neal.Foster@akleg.gov                                 800-478-3789
Rep.Lance.Pruitt@akleg.gov                                                  888-478-3438

You may also want to contact these leaders in the House and Senate with the same message.

House Leadership
Rep.Bryce.Edgmon@akleg.gov                                              800-898-4451
Rep.Chris.Tuck@akleg.gov                                                     866-465-2095

Senate Leadership
Senator.Pete.Kelly@akleg.gov                                                 877-665-3709
Senator.Peter.Micciche@akleg.gov                                         800-964-5733

Follow us on Facebook to stay informed.

Here’s some information that will be helpful as you reach out to legislators.

Find Alaska Legislators (will be updated as soon as new information is available)

Questions? Send an email to admin@bestbeginningsalaska.org.

 

Share