Five Areas of Child Development

Child Development

There are five areas of child development: physical, social and emotional, approaches to learning, thinking, and communication and language.

Five areas of child development
  1. Physical Health, Well-Being, and Movement Skills
    These activities are designed to help develop your child’s large and small muscle control, her coordination, and her overall physical fitness.
  2. Social and Emotional Development
    Activities in this area target your child’s ability to make and keep social relationships, both with adults and with other children. He will learn to recognize and express his own feelings more effectively. He will gain experience understanding and responding to the emotions of others.
  3. Approaches to Learning
    Children differ in how they approach new tasks, difficult problems, or challenges. These activities will spark your child’s curiosity, interest, and attention and the ability to stay on task. Research suggests strong links between positive approaches to learning and success in school.
  4. Thinking Abilities and General Knowledge
    The suggestions in this area help your child figure out how the world works and how things are organized. Your child will experience “learning how to learn,” improving problem-solving ability and abstract thinking.
  5. Communication, Language and Literacy
    These activities will help your child learn to express himself and to understand what others say. Early reading and writing skills are also targeted.

Sign up to receive the Best Beginnings E-newsletter for more great tips and important information.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email